LSTA Five Year State Plan

LSTA Five Year State Plan 2013-2017

These documents presents the LSTA Five-Year State Plan for Kansas that will be implemented during the 2013-2017 period (October 1, 2013—September 30, 2017) 2018-2022 period (October 1, 2018-September 30, 2022). The Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) program promotes access to information resources provided by all types of libraries and is administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). The IMLS Grants for States Program under which state library administrative agencies (SLAAs) receive LSTA allotments requires each SLAA to submit a five-year plan that identifies the state’s library needs and the goals and activities that will be employed to address these needs.

Goals for 2013-2017

The needs identified and incorporated into this plan including the following LSTA goals in Kansas.
1. Improve and enhance the high-speed and reliable infrastructure for delivery of library services to all Kansas libraries and residents (LSTA goals 1-2, 4-7).
2. Provide user-centric library services that facilitate lifelong learning for all Kansas residents (LSTA goals 1-2, 4-7).
3. Plan and implement projects that will identify technologies and collaborations that have impact on library services ensuring that libraries remain relevant to Kansas users.

LSTA Five Year State Plan 2018-2022

Goals for 2018-2022
1. The State Library will continue as the leadership agency that designs, facilitates and supports efficiencies, cooperative projects and information products to ensure robust resources and access for all state residents.
2. The State Library will continue providing a comprehensive statewide resource sharing platform to ensure that all state residents have access to information resources to assist them in their personal, educational and professional growth.
3. Assist librarians across the state to adapt library services to 21st century needs while continuing to provide traditional library services.